Music, Others

‘Unusual sounds: from Lutosławski to Belgian contemporary music’

Concerts by the Sturm und Klang Orchestra at the Maison du Peuple, Saint-Gilles
Witold Lutosławski, a major composer amongst the 20th century modernists, takes centre stage in this project, which is completely dedicated to two strands of contemporary music: musical and academic.

For the artistic constituent of the event, the Sturm und Klang Orchestra is putting on two concerts for you focused on the work of European composers, Witold Lutosławski, Sofia Gubaidulina, Luigi Dallapiccola, Bernd Aloïs Zimmerman, Jörg Widmann and Belgian composers Philippes Boesmans, Jean-Luc Fafchamps and Jean-Marie Rens, who played a crucial role in the way music developed in the 20th century and are still helping it to develop today.
>>> More information HERE

For the academic constituent, the Université Libre de Bruxelles’s Centre de recherche Musique, Cinéma et Arts de la scène (MUCiA) is getting on board with the project by joining forces with the University of Warsaw’s Institute of Musicology and the Polish Institute of Brussels to hold a conference devoted to the music of Witold Lutosławski and contemporary Polish music.
Language of the conference: French. The conference is open to the public.
>>> More information HERE

1. CONCERTS by the Sturm und Klang Orchestra, conducted by Thomas Van Haeperen
The two concerts will take place at the Maison du Peuple, Saint-Gilles (Parvis de Saint-Gilles 37-39) – see the map
Price: €15 | €10 (presales) | €5 (students, unemployed)
Presale by bank transfer to the account BE43 0014 2570 6101 (the account of SKO)

>>> 19 October 2013 | 20:00 (introduction to the concert at 19:15)
(Re)discovery of 20th century classics and works by contemporary Belgian composers
Soloists: Dominica Eyckmans - alto | Daniel Gruselle - accordion | Philippe Raskin -piano

Programme :
- Witold Lutosławski, Chain 1 pour orchestre de chambre (1983)
- Sofia Goubaïdoulina, Concordanza pour orchestre de chambre (1971)
- Luigi Dallapiccola, Piccola musica notturna, version pour orchestre (1954) ou pour ensemble (1961)
- Philippe Boesmans, Surfing, pour alto et quinze instruments (1989)
- Jean-Marie Rens, Concerto pour accordéon, piano et ensemble (création)

>>> 23 November 2013 | 20:00 (introduction to the concert at 19:15)
Œuvres pour orchestre à cordes
Soloists: Claire Bourdet - violon | Catherine Lebrun - cello

Programme :
- Witold Lutosławski, Musique funèbre (1958)
- Witold Lutosławski, Grave. Metamorphosis (1981)
- Jean-Luc Fafchamps, Comment une courbe…, pour violon et ensemble de cordes (1997)
- Bernd Aloïs Zimmermann, Concerto pour orchestre à cordes (1950)
- Jörg Widmann, Ikarische Klage, pour ensemble de cordes (1999)

More information:

2. CONFERENCE The work of Witold Lutosławski reflected in the Polish music of his period, by Katarzyna Naliwajek-Mazurek, Ph.D., of the University of Warsaw’s Institute of Musicology.

>>> 23 November 2013 | 10:30

This two hour session will be given over to a general introduction to Polish contemporary music and a presentation of Witold Lutosławski’s seminal works within this context. The way he developed his individual musical language will be explained using examples of his works and musical extracts, from Funeral music (1958) to the Fourth Symphony (1993), by putting them back in the context of the Polish music of the last four decades.

The conference will take place at the Université Libre de Bruxelles in room AY2.107: Campus du Solbosh, Av. F. Roosevelt 50, 1050 Brussels
building A, door Y, 2nd floor, room 107
see the map

Conference open to the public.

Renseignement : |

>>> Maison du Peuple de Saint-Gilles

>>> ULB, Solbosch, AY2.107


FrançaisFrançais NederlandsNederlands EnglishEnglish